The 4 Stages of Learning

There are four stages of learning. It doesn’t matter what it is that you’re learning, it doesn’t matter who you are, you will always go through these four stages.

The First Stage of Learning
The first stage is when someone is unconsciously incompetent, they don’t know that they don’t know something.

This could be when someone has just started a business and they don’t even know how to spell the word tax, let alone understand what it all means.

The Second Stage of Learning
Consciously incompetent, you now know that there are things you don’t know.

The Third Stage of Learning
At the consciously competent stage, you still have to think about new things you have learned about, it still takes up quite a lot of the bandwidth in your head, but you’re in control and you’re putting systems and processes in place in order for it to be managed.

The Fourth Stage of Learning
The final stage of the learning journey is becoming unconsciously competent. It just happens, you know it inside out, and it works.

If you feel like you are maybe stuck in a little bit of a rut, or you feel like you want to start moving up to becoming unconsciously competent at your compliance, or you are implementing a business plan, please do get in touch with us at SMYD Accounting / Advisory, because we would love to be the ones that help you get there.